August 19, 1911

one of Hon. Serving Sister of the Order of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem, conferred upon eleven members of the nursing staff by Queen Victoria in 1898, for their devoted work in connection with the outbreak of typhus fever on the Island of Inniskea in the previous year. Those nurses who were first sent to the island worked day and night to organise the nursing among the fisher folk, under circumstances of extreme difficulty, and when they contracted the disease, others took their place, and worked to such good purpose, that, although the greater part of the population of the island suffered the surplus profits being divided amongst them. Awards are also made annually to nurses who have served the Institution for over ten years, and all have full pay if ill or disabled.

A meeting of the Executive Committee of the Irish Nurses' Association was held in the Association Rooms, 34, St. Stephen's Green, Dublin, on August 9th, to consider what steps should be taken with regard to the National Insurance Bill as it affects the nursing profession. A Standing Committee was appointed to meet every Wednesday evening at 8 p.m., until



MRS. KILDARE TREACY AND HER NURSES.

from typhus, there was only one death, that of a patient, already tuberculous.

The nurses were admitted to the Order at a brilliant ceremony at the Vice-regal Lodge, Dublin, during Lord Cadogan's term of office as Viceroy, and were invested with the decoration by the late Lady Cadogan, who attached it to the left shoulder of the nurse in each case. Nurses on the staff of the City of Dublin Nursing Institution also did excellent service in connection with the Army Nursing Service Reserve in South Africa, during the War, and some of them subsequently stayed on in that country as members of Queen Alexandra's Imperial Military Nursing Service.

The Institution is self-supporting, and all earnings of the nurses are devoted to its upkeep,

matters are ready to call a general meeting of the nurses, in order to lay before them the proposed amendments. The following ladies were appointed to form the Standing Committee:—Sister Albens, Sister Angela, Miss Bradburne, Miss Butler, Miss Corcoran, Miss Cunningham, Miss Despard, Miss Eddison, Miss Egan, Miss Golding, Miss Holden, Miss Hannan, Miss Haughton, Miss Hampson, Miss Hill, Miss Hogg, Miss Hughes, Miss Huxley, Miss Hutchinson, Miss Joy, Miss Keating, Miss Kelly, Miss Keogh, Miss Lamont, Miss MacDonnell, Mrs. Manning, Miss Mathews, Miss O'Flynn, Miss Phelan, Miss Ramsden, Miss Reed, Miss Reeves, Miss Roberts, Miss Shuter, Mrs. Kildare Treacy, Miss West, Miss Chadwick, Miss Kerr, Miss Thornton, Miss Haire, and Miss O'Donnell.



